Smile for me

The beeping of the heart monitor woke me up. I was in room 1581 on the second wing of the hospital. We recently moved from the intensive care units to the usual ones just yesterday. They said that the only problem left were the water in her lungs, preventing her from breathing normally. The effects of the crash were devastating. She had a fracture on her skull, on the side of her right temple. Her jaw was broken, unhinged from hitting the steering wheel. Her sternum had considerable damage too. It was a miracle that the bone shards didn’t pierce her heart first before the doctors could get to her.

Her hand was cold, most likely from the air conditioning of the place. She kept her eyes closed throughout our entire stay here. I miss those eyes. I want to see them open again.

Someone knocked. “Hello?”, a man in a lab coat entered with a stethoscope wrapped around his neck. He first uses the thermometer on her. He shakes his head, “Too cold”. He checks for her breathing. The stethoscope could only pick up faint gurgles resonating from her lungs. “Looks like the water is still there”, he continues to check her blood pressure, “110/70, normal, good”. That’s when he checked her pulse. He grits his teeth in frustration. “It’s too faint”, he sighs.

I stood up and placed my hand on the doctor’s right shoulder. He was trying to stay strong, but he can’t. Tears were pacing down his face in a steady stream. “I’m sorry, Lily. I’m trying, so so much, but I can’t. I’m so sorry, but I can’t help you as much as I think I could. Please don’t leave me yet”, he says as he places a light kiss on the back of her palm, “I still need my little sister”. I flash a soft smile and wrap my arms around him. “It’s okay, I’m not going anywhere. Not yet”

Leave a Reply

